Love Vintage Clothing Show & Sale

On the weekend the Love Vintage Clothing Show & Sale was held in the Hordern Pavilion in Sydney.
I’ve been looking forward to this show for quite some time. A few friends of mine went last year and just by looking at the photos there seemed to just be hundreds of vintage garments on racks up for grabs. It began on Friday night and was open on the weekend. I worked on the Saturday which meant the only day I could attend was the Sunday. In hindsight I think it’s a good thing I went only one day. I was there for only 3 hours and managed to spend $550. I can honestly say that I could have spent $10 000 if it was given to me.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many authentic vintage clothing in one room and in such good condition. I didn’t know where to begin. Clothes from the 70s and 80s were relatively cheap/well priced (from $25-$80) but the ones that made my heart sing were minimum $150 each. Why oh why couldn’t my calling in fashion have been for the 70s instead of the 40s and 50s?!

I brought my camera along to the event but I was so wrapped up in trying on as many dresses as I could as quickly as possible that I forgot about bringing it. My boyfriend Saca was my shopping partner and helped eliminate plenty of choices. There was a a pair of high waisted capri pants that were bright purple and aqua pinstriped but he said they were far too Willy Wonka-esque. He was probably right.

Seeing as there were many options I decided to think about clothes that I needed. I already own 4 coats and I have oodles of summer dresses but I don’t really have that many winter options. This helped me because it meant that I couldn’t be distracted by cute floral summer dresses.

In the end I bought 4 items; a 1940s woolen winter dress, a 1950s woolen winter dress, a 1950s/60s girdle and a 50s inspired jacket from the 1980s.

I almost bought an authentic 1950s polka dot sheer evening dress over the 40s winter dress that fit me to perfection. However, I thought about how polka dots are a very common pattern and that there would be other times that I’d come across dresses similar to it and that I wouldn’t be finding a 40s winter dress very quickly.

Here is a photo of me and the lady who sold me the 40s number and a man who was convinced I should enter the best dressed contest. You’ll notice that I’m wearing the same dress I wore out to the First Night Festival from Mint Condition.
Dress: Mint Condition, Rozelle
Belt: Myer
Shoes: Wittner

Here are a few photos of the 1940s woolen dress that I’ve taken today.

Dress: ‘Teena Paige Fashion’ says the tag
Hat: Unknown! It’s on the hat stand in the Foyer… Parents bought it at an auction aaaages ago
Shoes: ‘Jeer’ Wittner

I managed to knock $20 off the price because I was a ‘charming young lady’ who ‘looked like Judy Garland’. I don’t look like Judy Garland at all but I’ll definitely take that. Judy is a babe.

I’ll post photos of the 50s red winter dress and the 80s jacket soon!

-Bella
xx

Leave a Reply

