Torque’s Rockabilly Revolution!

On the 27th of January, a retro lovin’ bar and grill named Torque held their first Rockabilly Revolution for 2013.

Back in November last year I went to dinner at the restaurant with my sister Mel and her friends for her birthday. I fell in love with the decor and proportions of their chicken parmagianna. I followed them on Facebook and saw that once a month they host a Rockabilly Night- unfortunately the nights that they have been held my boyfriend Saca either had work the next morning or we already had plans.

Finally they posted about the one in January and I wrote it in my diary straight away. I was working in Castle Towers that day until 4:30pm so as soon as I finished I drove to Collaroy to meet with Sash. We then caught a bus to Wynyard, a train to Strathfield and a taxi to Torque. When I was on the bus I was having second thoughts because it was lightly raining and I knew we still had a while to travel. Thankfully I didn’t suggest turning around because not only did I have an amazing night but it was the “debut” night of my new Wheels & Dollbaby dress.

Leopard Corset Dress 1Photo on 2013-01-27 at 17.12

It’s called the Classic Corset Dress in Leopard and it’s available here on their website.
I’ve been pining over it for awhile but could never justify spending that much money on a dress – however, I have future plans for it that I am keeping a secret.

When we arrived at Torque there was an abundance of vintage cars surrounding the restaurant. Greasers smoked cigarettes, girls with backseam stockings were leaning against the cars and I knew it was going to be a great night. We ordered two Old Skool Hamburgers (with fries of course), sat down at a table and watched all the magnificent swing dancers in action. There was a live band called the Vintage Overdrive that really had the crowd dancing all night. I lured Sash out to this event under the pretence of “there’s a live band, awesome food and we can dance a little” – but after 30 seconds of just watching the other dancers we both looked at eachother and telepathically acknowledged that we were not dancing that night.

Sash and I did a few swing dancing lessons about a year ago and it seems as if it has all been wiped from our memories. People aged from 8-70 danced like professionals and even were swapping partners. No way were we going on that floor.

Here is a video by Benjamin Sutherland of a few of the cars out front of the restaurant.
From about 5:28 onwards you can hear the Vintage Overdrive playing and a glimpse at all the swing dancing!!


This is a look at the retro inspired menu that Torque had made especially for the night.

TorqueMenu
The only downside to the night was the $140 cab ride Sash and I shared back to Collaroy from Strathfield – but I’m super glad I went.

I forgot my camera for the night and when I tried taking photos on Sash’s iphone they turned out dark and blurry. Click here for the photo album from Torque’s facebook page if you’re interested. There aren’t that many photos but you’ll get the jist.

Aaaanyways, I know I’ve already posted about my red leopard print top and shoes back in June 2012, but I wanted to show how cute the looked teamed with a full skirt and a cat mask! I wore this outfit to my friend Kristi’s Masquerade themed 21st on the 25th of January.


Photo on 2013-01-25 at 19.00 #4

In case you needed reminding;
Top: ‘Hungry Heart’ top by Revival from Dangerfield
Skirt: ‘Jive’ skirt by Review (2 years ago..)
Heels: Guess
Stockings: “Dotti” stockings by Honey Birdette
Mask: $5 from the Dural Discount Party Warehouse

Photo on 2013-01-25 at 19.04 #2
Photo on 2013-01-25 at 19.09
and here is a photo of some of my friends from college in our “muck up” photo

jmcfriends
I wonder if my next purchase is leopard print too…

2 responses

Leave a Reply

