Valentines Day <3

This year my partner and I first decided to just make a stir fry and eat it by the beach for Valentines Day. However, a few days leading up to the day the weather was extremely temperamental and I was nervous that our beach plans would be ruined. I was driving past the 1930s Hayden Orpheum cinema in Cremorne and saw that Edward Scissorhands was playing and the words ‘Valentine Day Special’ were near it. I thought this would be a pretty cool thing to go and see together seeing as it isn’t a cheesy love dovey movie like The Notebook but it isn’t quite Alien Vs Predator. I found the Hayden Orpheum website but realised I had read the board wrong – the Valentine’s Day special was for Breakfast at Tiffanys and that Edward Scissorhands was playing a few days later.

Now, I’m going to admit to something I’ve kept secret for as long as I can remember. I had never seen Breakfast at Tiffanys. By knowing 3 simple facts of the film I’ve somehow bluffed my way through every single converstion where it has been mentioned. Firstly, Audrey Hepburn wears a black dress with pearls, has a ginger cat and in one scene she is eating a danish while window shopping at Tiffanys . I simply say something like “Seeeeeriously! That dress is so timeless!” or “that cat was just so cute, right?”.

It took a bit of convincing for Sash to join me for the film but ultimately he caved. It was $60 for 2 tickets, 2 glasses of French champagne (not that I can ever taste the difference!) and a single red rose.

Most times when I go out and wear something vintage I do two victory rolls in my hair and either curl the ends or roll it up into a retro-styled low bun but I wanted to do something different to my hair for a change. I’ve always had a girl crush on Lauren Bacall not only for her husky voice but also for her hair.

lauren lauren2

I typed in “Lauren Bacall Hairstyle” into Youtube and followed one of the tutorials by LisaFreemontStreet.
The video below is the tutorial I watched – the only thing I did differently was that I used hot rollers and set my hair for an hour rather than use those pin curls. I find them so hard to do and I can’t be bothered half the time.

This is a close up of the finished product!

valentinescloseup

I wore the dress that I purchased at the Summer Love Vintage Clothing Fair which I blogged about back in September. I hadn’t had a chance to wear it yet and I thought the light nature of the dress with the floral colours made it romantic. I wore a thin white belt to match my white heels.

valentinesdress

Anywho, I was running a bit late because I was trying to take photos on my Macbook’s Photobooth and it just wasn’t staying up right so while I was driving to Sash’s place he was cooking the stir fry. We ate together and then had a bit of a mosey down to the cinema. Sash was slightly embarrassed by my tourist-like taking of photos so I tried taking them without the flash. They’re a bit blurry and dark but you’ll get the jist.

OrpheumOutside

RoofOnce we sat down a bunch of advertisements played but after a few minutes the curtains closed. Suddenly a trap door opens in front of the screen and a man and his organ rise from underneath the floor! He then played for roughly 6 mins or so and had a backing orchestra play alongside with him. We all gave him a big clap and he dissappeared back to the trap door. The curtains then pulled back and Breakfast at Tiffanys began.
Organ GuyIt was absolutely stunning on the inside. I mean look at this exit sign. Is this not the nicest exit sign you’ve ever seen?!?!?!

Exit SignThe bathroom even matched my outfit so I took a sneaky selfie.
Selfie
SO, did I like the movie? Well yes and no. I mean, I dig the storyline and like the characters but some scenes just dragged onnnnn and onnn and onnnn. Any scene with the ginger cat was the best.
Okay wait, SPOILER ALERT to those who haven’t seen the film:
That scene where she throws the cat out of the taxi into the torrential rain and just leaves it behind? and there is a close up of the cat all wet and looking miserable? I legitimately was so sad – not because just in the same scene that guy was ending their relationship – I wasn’t upset at that at all. But that cat scene. Dang. Oscar worthy performance by the cat.

I have a ginger cat too and after the movie I asked Sash if we could recreate that final scene where Holly and Paul kiss passionately in the rain (see picture below).

tiffanys-kiss

He said no.

One response

Leave a Reply

