Cat Flats

Quite a few months ago I was scrolling through my dashboard on Tumblr and someone I followed had reblogged a picture of Taylor Swift wearing the cutest ballet flats in the universe (according to me).

taylor swiftI loved them instantly and googled “Taylor Swift Cat Flats” and found out they were by Charlotte Olympia and called Kitty Flats. They’re available to buy online here on her website but the price tag ain’t pretty. £465 is what they are asking for these bad boys which works out to be roughly AU$673.

It was one of those moments where I couldn’t justify spending money that I didn’t even have to begin with and I moved on with my life.

FLASHBACK TO YESTERDAY
Recently I’ve been living on roughly $10 a day because last week I spent $375 on new car tyres and $500 on my car rego. My lovely boyfriend Sash noticed that I had $0.26 in my bank account and gave me $150 to last 9 days. Most of it went to petrol, hiring a white floor length coat for my Cruella Deville costume and staff parking but I managed to have roughly $37ish left on Monday. I spent my lunchbreak with my pal Steph and I splurged on an $7.90 chicken schnitzel wrap because I could definitely survive Tues/Wed with about $29 to my name .
[NB: For those who don’t know, I get paid fortnightly on Thursdays].

With a whole five minutes remaining of our break I asked if we could venture into Rubi Shoes quickly just to browse. As soon as I entered the store the first pair of shoes that caught my eye were none other than almost an exact replica of the “Kitty Flats”. I almost fainted and whipped off my white ballet flats and agonised over what size to get. I had only 4 minutes left of my break and I needed to buy them at that moment or else I would surely die.
I briskly walked up to the counter and poured out every single coin and note in my wallet. It totalled to $29.00 and the shoes of course cost $29.95. Instantly I regretted choosing an expensive, healthy wrap over the McDonalds loose change menu. I was standing at the register, counting and recounting the money hoping an extra 95 cents would appear magically but nothing happened.

Feverishly checking my phone I had 2 minutes left until I had to go back to my counter in Myers and it struck me – I simply asked the most commonly asked retail question “Is there a minimum on eftpos?”. The sales assistant then spoke the word that made my heart sing “Nope”.  Obviously with my $0.26 bank balance it couldn’t be me to save the day but Steph rose to the both the challenge and the counter and paid the remaining 95c.

Practically skipping into Myer with joy, I immediately took off my white old flats and slipped into my new cat flats.I’m pretty sure I actually went to every staff member and meowed at them with my feet – including Louis on Level 2 in Electrical. I *completely* forget that how I needed $5 to pay for Westfield Staff Parking but fortunately Louis lended it to me. He understood my need for cat flats and how much joy it gave me.

Here is a photo I took on my phone at work yesterday;
meow

You can purchase these cheap replicas called the Mimi Slipper here on Rubi’s online shop.

Sidenote, I’ve googled once again “Taylor Swift Cat Flats” and found these two photos of her. If ANYONE sees cheaper replicas then help a sister out because I am already imaging the outfits I would put together if I had nude cat heels.
Taylor Swift Nude Cat Heel Taylor Swift WhiteCat Flat
and please excuse me while I pine for these ones too.. way too high for me but still the design is gorgeous.
tessa_black_2
Well. There you have it. My incredibly long winded and detailed story of yesterday’s lunch break. I’m sure it could have been summed up by saying “I found cat flats but didn’t have enough money to buy them so my friends helped me out” but then that wouldn’t have been very like me, would it?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

